Skip to main content

Get Personal Injury Protection Coverage

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is vital for drivers in no-fault states, providing coverage for medical expenses, lost wages, and other essential services regardless of fault in an accident. Get a free quote to explore your PIP coverage options today.

What Does Personal Injury Protection Cover?

Drivers in some states called "no-fault states" must purchase personal injury protection (PIP) coverage on their car insurance policy, but you can also purchase this coverage in states where it is not required and available. Personal injury protection provides coverage for you and your passengers if you are injured in an auto accident, whether the accident is your fault or not.

Personal injury protection (PIP) covers you and your passengers for a variety of things up to your policy limit in the event of an accident:

• Medical bills you incur from the accident

• Reimbursement for lost time at work due to the accident

• The cost of medical rehabilitation expenses due to the accident

• Coverage for things you cannot do because of the injuries you incurred in the accident, such as childcare, house cleaning, and transportation services.

• Funeral expenses and benefits to survivors of a driver or passenger involved in the accident

Remember that the personal injury protection coverage on your auto insurance policy must be exhausted before your health insurance will cover the rest of your medical or rehabilitation expenses.

What is a No-Fault State?

No-fault states are those that require drivers to carry personal injury protection coverage on their car insurance policies to protect themselves and their passengers from being unable to pay for the medical expenses and accompanying hardships that may come from a car accident, regardless of who is at fault. There are 12 states in the U.S. that require PIP coverage through their no-fault insurance laws:

• Florida

• Hawaii

• Kansas

• Kentucky

• Massachusetts

• Michigan

• Minnesota

• New Jersey

• New York

• North Dakota

• Pennsylvania

• Utah

The amount of personal injury protection that a driver must carry varies by state, so you should check the requirements in your state when purchasing this coverage. A PIP limit is represented by the total amount of coverage followed by the per week loss of income benefit per person. For example, New York has a PIP requirement of $5,000/$200, which translates to a total of $5,000 of coverage per person and a maximum of $200 per week for loss of income for that person up to the policy limit. However, you can purchase higher limits of PIP in all of these states if you would like more protection than your state requires. You can speak with a local insurance agent or your insurance company to determine how much PIP coverage your state requires.

Get Covered Today!
Amy V. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Amy V. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A-MAX Military

We are super satisfied with the service we get from Stephanie every time we need a quote, make a payment or even just a simple question…She is super friendly very professional and did I mention very thorough about any information she gives us. I feel like she always goes above and beyond no matter what service we need.Thank you Stephanie we need more people like you in the customer service world!

Nate P. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Nate P. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A-MAX Cypress

Lindsey was absolutely amazing, she stayed on the phone with me until the whole process was complete and was very polite! Also, the rates are unbeatable!!! I would put 10 stars if I could but I guess I'll just highly recommend them!

Abelia C. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Abelia C. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A-MAX Blackhawk

Vanessa had helped me with a quote and getting started on insurance, she was extremely helpful and gave me an awesome deal!! She was super polite and beyond helpful!!

Miguel C. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Miguel C. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A-MAX Closner Blvd

Great customer service! Immediate quote with the best prices in town. I had have them for about six years now and they are always eager to help and give you the best deal.

Richard L. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Richard L. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A-MAX Cypress

I have been with them for more than 8 years I have not had any problems very good company!

Lejoan B. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Lejoan B. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A-MAX Lake June

Angelica helped with my full coverage insurance in under 20 mins I was all set. Thanks again I’ll be recommending.

Ametrus B. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Ametrus B. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A-MAX Garland

If you just need liability insurance, this is the go to place. Lowest prices in town. Friendly agents to work with.

Is PIP Coverage the Same as Medical Payments Coverage?

Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage and medical payments (MedPay) coverage are similar, but there are a few clear differences. MedPay is an optional coverage that you can purchase. MedPay only pays for your and your passenger's medical bills but will not cover your loss of wages if you cannot work, pay funeral expenses, or pay for things that you can not do due to your injuries. Like PIP coverage, MedPay will cover your medical expenses and is used before your health insurance responds to the medical bills from your accident.

Is PIP the Same as Bodily Injury Liability?

Personal injury protection only applies to you and the passengers in your vehicle after an auto accident. If the accident is your fault and you injure others outside of your car, the bodily injury liability insurance coverage on your auto insurance policy will respond to cover medical expenses for the people that you injure in the accident.

Do you need PIP if you have health insurance?

If you live in a state that requires PIP coverage, you must have at least the minimum required limit on your auto insurance policy. If PIP is optional in your state and you have health insurance, you can decline to carry the personal injury protection coverage. However, if your health insurance has a large deductible, PIP or MedPay coverage can help you satisfy that deductible first so you don't have to pay as much out-of-pocket for your injuries.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage FAQs

Q: What does personal injury protection cover?

A: Personal injury protection (PIP) covers you and your passengers for medical costs, funeral expenses, and loss of work and will pay for things you cannot do because of the accident, such as care for your children and housekeeping, among other things.

Q: How do I know if my state is a no-fault state that requires PIP coverage?

A: You can speak with a local insurance agent or your insurance company to determine if your state is a no-fault state and determine what limit of PIP coverage you may be required to carry. You can also search your state's Department of Motor Vehicles's website to access this information.

Q: If I have health insurance, do I still need to carry PIP coverage in a no-fault state?

A: Yes, if you live in a no-fault state, you must carry at least the minimum PIP coverage required by your state, even if you have health insurance.


Let's Start Saving

meet us
Drop by One of Our
Convenient Locations

and chat with a friendly agent!
Find a Location Near You!
Call Us Text Us Message Visit